The Cloud Computing Stack

Since defining cloud computing can be tricky, the term “the cloud computing stack” was coined to define three different components that make up different variations of cloud computing. The three services are known as IaaS (Infrastructure as a service), PaaS, (Platform as a service), and SaaS. (Software as a service). The most popular form of cloud computing is SaaS since it’s usually packaged and easy to use, pay-as-you-go model.

The 3 components of the cloud computing stack:

IaaS – Infrastructure as a Service is a model in which a cloud provider manages the hardware, software, servers, storage, networking, and virtualization. They generally offer scalable resources. In IaaS, the end user manages applications, data, middleware, and runtime.

PaaS – Platform as a Service provides a platform allowing the end user to develop and run web applications. The user will manage applications and data only, and the cloud provider manages everything else such as operating system, servers, networking, etc.  This is similar to IaaS but a bit more extensive.

SaaS – Software as a Service is application software that is provided in the cloud.  It’s usually a pay-as-you-go subscription model and is quickly becoming the most popular form of cloud computing.  A good example is Microsoft Office 365.

If you would like to know more about cloud computing and how it can help your business, call Nettology Philadelphia IT support at 610-558-1730.

Contact us today for your business!

Popular links on our website:

Fill out the form for a
Free Consultation!

Generic Contact Form